elective-stereophonic
elective-stereophonic
public Testnet Node
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest Nxt Client: Nxt 1.11.15

Author Topic: public Testnet Node  (Read 5160 times)

Tosch110

  • Ex-Staff Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +211/-18
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2365
    • View Profile
public Testnet Node
« on: August 09, 2014, 12:51:41 pm »

Does anybody have a public node with testnet running?

I would like to test some stuff online, but do not have a server yet to run NXT on testnet. So localhost would not work.

Thanks!

abctc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +148/-13
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1396
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 01:12:51 pm »

I think we should test the testnode's communications also, not only the client.

It is very easy to setup testnode:
1. Download last NRS release into some folder, say "testnxt".
2. Unzip the archive, and go to the folder testnxt\nxt\conf
4. Copy file nxt-default.properties to file nxt.properties.
    Edit file nxt.properties:
    4.1 delete all lines but nxt.isTestnet=false
    4.2 change it to nxt.isTestnet=true
5. Navigate to testnxt\nxt\, and start run.bat (windows) or ./run.sh (linux).
6. Open http://localhost:6876/ in your browser.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2015, 03:24:53 pm by abctc »
Logged
Welcome to the Nxt generation of crypto!   Magis quam Moneta (More than a Coin)
"Do not worry, it is an attack" (c) Jean-Luc

Tosch110

  • Ex-Staff Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +211/-18
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2365
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2014, 03:17:16 pm »

I think we should test the testnode's communications also, not only the client.

It is very easy to setup testnode:
1. Download v.1.2.2e into some folder, say "testnxt".
2. Unzip the archive, and go to folder testnxt\nxt\conf
4. Edit file nxt-default.properties: find the string nxt.isTestnet=false, and change it to nxt.isTestnet=true
5. Navigate to testnxt\nxt\, and start run.bat (windows) or ./run.sh (linux).
6. Open http://localhost:7876/ in your browser.

Thanks so far.
But I would like to use a public node to speak to. So I could use the JSON:

instead of
http://localhost:6876/nxt?requestType=dgsPurchase

I could use
http://somepublicnode:6876/nxt?requestType=dgsPurchase

Anyway, testnet is 6876, not 7876 or am I wrong?

Tosch110

  • Ex-Staff Member
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +211/-18
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2365
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2014, 05:47:07 pm »

There is no public testNXT Api I could talk to, is there?

nxtrules

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +15/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2014, 05:55:21 pm »

Shouldn't the testnet 6876? When I specify testNet as true, then only http://localhost:6876 works. Is the application.properties correct below? It has UI as 6875

thanks

# Use testnet, leave set to false unless you are really testing.
# Never unlock your real accounts on testnet! Use separate accounts for testing only.
# When using testnet, all custom port settings will be ignored,
# and hardcoded ports of 6874 (peer networking), 6875 (UI) and 6876 (API) will be used.
nxt.isTestnet=true


I think we should test the testnode's communications also, not only the client.

It is very easy to setup testnode:
1. Download v.1.2.2e into some folder, say "testnxt".
2. Unzip the archive, and go to folder testnxt\nxt\conf
4. Edit file nxt-default.properties: find the string nxt.isTestnet=false, and change it to nxt.isTestnet=true
5. Navigate to testnxt\nxt\, and start run.bat (windows) or ./run.sh (linux).
6. Open http://localhost:7876/ in your browser.
Logged
http://nxtrules.mooo.com {NXT investment tracking with multiple account support}

abctc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +148/-13
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1396
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2014, 06:22:24 pm »

Shouldn't the testnet 6876?
- yes! My bad. Of course 6876 for testnet.

Made some corrections in that my post.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2014, 06:26:54 pm by abctc »
Logged
Welcome to the Nxt generation of crypto!   Magis quam Moneta (More than a Coin)
"Do not worry, it is an attack" (c) Jean-Luc

nxtrules

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Karma: +15/-1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 254
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2014, 10:48:40 pm »

np. Reposting it here. This is for testnet faucet. It will be nice to have a public server.

I finally got faucet running. Seems like the source code that is running at nxtra is old? For testnet, we need to do the following to automate (by automate, I mean, users could just go to a site and request NXT for testing instead of asking on this forum)

1) get a testnet server(out in public) running nxt code in testnet mode
2) update faucet software:
 a) update all URLs to testnet
 b) update all API calls to use NQT (i.e. sendMoney/balance to balanceNQT, etc). I am not sure when this got changed
 c) update all incoming values to NQT
3) Update faucet.php with faucet account info/etc..
4) give out the URL to users

btw..There is a cron job script with faucet which pull from transactions table and sends out all transactions which are outstanding. We could probably get rid of this and directly call processCron(or sendMoney) once the transaction is in db. Just need to make sure we don't call sendMoney on the same transaction


that should do it ;-).
Logged
http://nxtrules.mooo.com {NXT investment tracking with multiple account support}

EvilDave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +341/-40
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1789
    • View Profile
    • NXT Foundation
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2014, 12:43:20 am »

OK, I've started playing around tiwth setting up a public TestNet server, to be used as a newbie sandbax/demonstration node......it's up and running at:
54.69.53.67.   So far so, good, got connected, blockchain downloaded, all is looking good.

But how the flip do I get it to accept incoming connections on 6875 and 6876 ?
The way I read the TestNet documentation, all custom port settings are overridden by the TestNet switch, so is there a way to open thos 2 ports to the public?
Logged
Nulli Dei, nulli Reges, solum NXT
NXT Donations: NXT-BNZB-9V8M-XRPW-3S3WD
We will ride eternal, shiny and chrome!

abctc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +148/-13
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1396
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2014, 06:19:18 am »

But how the flip do I get it to accept incoming connections on 6875 and 6876 ?
- just place
Code: [Select]
nxt.apiServerHost=0.0.0.0
nxt.allowedBotHosts=*
into conf\nxt.properties file.
Logged
Welcome to the Nxt generation of crypto!   Magis quam Moneta (More than a Coin)
"Do not worry, it is an attack" (c) Jean-Luc

EvilDave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +341/-40
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1789
    • View Profile
    • NXT Foundation
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2014, 09:03:38 am »

Sadly, already got the open API (and old NRS UI on *875) in my nxt.properties....and everything works on MainNet using the same nxt.properties file (except for the TestNet switch, obv) so I'm confused.......
Logged
Nulli Dei, nulli Reges, solum NXT
NXT Donations: NXT-BNZB-9V8M-XRPW-3S3WD
We will ride eternal, shiny and chrome!

fmiboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2015, 02:58:09 am »

Anyone knows active testnet node?
Logged

jones

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +310/-8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1043
  • write code not war
    • View Profile
    • jNxt
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2015, 03:37:32 am »

Anyone knows active testnet node?
http://jnxt.org:6876/

That is the demo node, but works as a test node enough, accounts demo1 -> demo50 each have 25000 nxt of testnxt to work with with.
Logged
-- Jones NXT-RJU8-JSNR-H9J4-2KWKY

fmiboy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2015, 03:39:32 am »

I would like to check couple of APIs on testnet, thanks jones, that helps!
Logged

PICISI

  • Guest
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2015, 03:19:52 am »

I have a question, if I issue a currency (via MS) and don't select any of the 'type' boxes (Exchangeable, Controllable, Reservable, Claimable, Mintable, Non-Shuffleable,)
what 'type' of instrument will be created?

My objective is to create a currency that could be traded at a Poloniex type of exchange with no strings attached.


thanks
Logged

petko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Karma: +24/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #14 on: December 12, 2015, 02:23:38 pm »

4. Copy file nxt-default.properties to file file nxt.properties. Edit file nxt.properties: find the string nxt.isTestnet=false, and change it to nxt.isTestnet=true

Copying the whole conf/nxt-default.properties is not necessary and might cause problems when updating. Just create new cont/nxt.properties with nxt.isTestnet=true inside
Logged

floyd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #15 on: July 01, 2016, 01:30:32 pm »

Anyone know of an active testnet node?

Blockchain not downloading completely.
Logged

VanBreuk

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +362/-19
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2772
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #16 on: July 01, 2016, 01:32:23 pm »

Anyone know of an active testnet node?

Blockchain not downloading completely.

I installed this one - http://31.187.71.186:6876/

Running with 1.9.1e, feel free to use it.
Logged
GPG Fingerprint: B020 D1C1 F289 3B2C 3577  9EAD 455D D175 5913 C7F1

floyd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #17 on: July 01, 2016, 01:38:32 pm »

Anyone know of an active testnet node?

Blockchain not downloading completely.

I installed this one - ttp://31.187.71.186:6876/

Running with 1.9.1e, feel free to use it.

Thank you.

But its not connecting.

Is that because I am on 1.8.2?
Logged

VanBreuk

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +362/-19
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2772
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2016, 01:51:09 pm »

Anyone know of an active testnet node?

Blockchain not downloading completely.

I installed this one - http://31.187.71.186:6876/

Running with 1.9.1e, feel free to use it.

Thank you.

But its not connecting.

Is that because I am on 1.8.2?

There seems to be some confusion here. http://31.187.71.186:6876/ is a public testnet node, you can either send requests to it (try for instance curl "http://31.187.71.186:6876/nxt?requestType=getState" from command line if you are using Linux) or use it as testnet UI accessing it in your browser. You don't need to run Nxt in your machine to operate with a public node.
Logged
GPG Fingerprint: B020 D1C1 F289 3B2C 3577  9EAD 455D D175 5913 C7F1

floyd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: public Testnet Node
« Reply #19 on: July 01, 2016, 01:56:17 pm »

Anyone know of an active testnet node?

Blockchain not downloading completely.

I installed this one - ttp://31.187.71.186:6876/

Running with 1.9.1e, feel free to use it.

Thank you.

But its not connecting.

Is that because I am on 1.8.2?

Got Through.

Dankjewel, VanBreuk.
Logged
 

elective-stereophonic
elective-stereophonic
assembly
assembly