elective-stereophonic
elective-stereophonic
running into a fork on testNet?  
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Latest Stable Nxt Client: Nxt 1.12.1 Upgrade before block 2870000 is mandatory!

Author Topic: running into a fork on testNet?  (Read 1413 times)

LocoMB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +101/-37
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
running into a fork on testNet?
« on: July 23, 2014, 06:25:21 am »

I seem to be having an issue with my testNet:

The 'base target' values are insanely high (~ %10,000 -ish) and there seem to be only two block generating accounts.

Am I running into forks, or is this genuine with the testNet at the moment?

I am using 1.2.1e, but it was the same with 1.2.0e

Best,
l8orre


PS: I don't know if this issue already has a place elsewhere on the forum,


getState:
{
    "lastBlock": "4725667429601915135",
    "numberOfAliases": 61636,
    "application": "NRS",
    "lastBlockchainFeeder": "raspnxt.hopto.org",
    "numberOfPeers": 24,
    "numberOfBlocks": 117915,            <------------- is this ok?
    "totalMemory": 577241088,
    "isScanning": false,
    "numberOfUnlockedAccounts": 1,
    "freeMemory": 136661648,
    "maxMemory": 954728448,
    "totalEffectiveBalanceNXT": 946041710,
    "numberOfTransactions": 168121,
    "version": "1.2.1e",
    "numberOfOrders": 4723,
    "numberOfVotes": 0,
    "numberOfTrades": 1945,
    "lastBlockchainFeederHeight": 162959,
    "time": 20810323,
    "availableProcessors": 4,
    "numberOfAssets": 766,
    "numberOfPolls": 3,
    "cumulativeDifficulty": "2508182158048816",
    "numberOfAccounts": 25640
}
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 08:40:47 am by l8orre »
Logged
TOX
90E54E5B5213290EE616D425CADC473038CFABFA53C913271AA8559D1937DC4AF3A354A9E4E5

abctc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +148/-13
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1396
    • View Profile
Re: running into a fork on testNet?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2014, 07:15:00 am »

The 'base target' values are insanely high (~ %10,000 -ish) and there seem to be only two block generating accounts.
...
I am using 1.2.1e, but it was the same with 1.2.0e
- I also see only two accounts.  Version 1.2.0e.

Current block:
162903      14386024746077933238      23.7.2014 11:14:20   
0      0 + 0      0 B   
3      6974174502535028159      322876 %
Logged
Welcome to the Nxt generation of crypto!   Magis quam Moneta (More than a Coin)
"Do not worry, it is an attack" (c) Jean-Luc

Come-from-Beyond

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +794/-671
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4013
    • View Profile
Re: running into a fork on testNet?
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 07:29:19 am »

Maybe only 2 accounts forging.
Logged

LocoMB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +101/-37
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: running into a fork on testNet?
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 07:30:49 am »

Logged
TOX
90E54E5B5213290EE616D425CADC473038CFABFA53C913271AA8559D1937DC4AF3A354A9E4E5

LocoMB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +101/-37
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: running into a fork on testNet?
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2014, 07:31:42 am »

Maybe only 2 accounts forging.

but could be - apart from that, it all works normally - but:

the asset that I had created has DISAPPEARED, so it looks like I have been on a fork at least at some time in the past ?!?!
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 08:42:02 am by l8orre »
Logged
TOX
90E54E5B5213290EE616D425CADC473038CFABFA53C913271AA8559D1937DC4AF3A354A9E4E5

Jean-Luc

  • Core Dev
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +816/-81
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1610
    • View Profile
Re: running into a fork on testNet?
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2014, 09:01:11 am »

1.1.6 will not work on testnet because it does not have the latest changes in the DGS and alias transfer code.

1.2.1e brings some incompatible changes to the DGS transactions again, and will delete existing testnet blocks after block 117907. If you try it now, it will go on a fork. When everybody switches to 1.2.1e, that fork will become the main testnet blockchain, right now there are probably two competing forks, 1.2.0e and 1.2.1e on testnet. But some of the UI is broken in 1.2.1e, I am waiting for Wesley to adapt to my latest changes before 1.2.1e can be released.

Logged
GPG key fingerprint: 263A 9EB0 29CF C77A 3D06  FD13 811D 6940 E1E4 240C
NXT-X4LF-9A4G-WN9Z-2R322

LocoMB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +101/-37
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: running into a fork on testNet?
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2014, 11:01:31 am »

1.1.6 will not work on testnet because it does not have the latest changes in the DGS and alias transfer code.

1.2.1e brings some incompatible changes to the DGS transactions again, and will delete existing testnet blocks after block 117907. If you try it now, it will go on a fork. When everybody switches to 1.2.1e, that fork will become the main testnet blockchain, right now there are probably two competing forks, 1.2.0e and 1.2.1e on testnet. But some of the UI is broken in 1.2.1e, I am waiting for Wesley to adapt to my latest changes before 1.2.1e can be released.

hmm.. would it be better to switch back to 1.2.0e, or rather wait until 1.2.1e has become the mainLine testNet fork?
Logged
TOX
90E54E5B5213290EE616D425CADC473038CFABFA53C913271AA8559D1937DC4AF3A354A9E4E5

Jean-Luc

  • Core Dev
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +816/-81
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1610
    • View Profile
Re: running into a fork on testNet?
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2014, 12:02:12 pm »

1.2.0e has known bugs in DGS that are fixed in 1.2.1e, there is no point in testing it anymore until 1.2.1e is released. There are some changes in API parameters and result json in 1.2.1e, if you need to work on the API use 1.2.1e, but forge by yourself, without connecting to testnet, otherwise your blocks will keep being popped off because of the 1.2.0e fork that most of testnet is on. Using the 1.2.1e API from the /test url should work, it is only the UI that will have glitches. The transaction bytes format has also changed again today because I added attachment versioning too after block 117910 on testnet.


Logged
GPG key fingerprint: 263A 9EB0 29CF C77A 3D06  FD13 811D 6940 E1E4 240C
NXT-X4LF-9A4G-WN9Z-2R322

Berzerk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +118/-40
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1530
    • View Profile
Re: running into a fork on testNet?
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2014, 12:46:58 pm »

1.2.0e has known bugs in DGS that are fixed in 1.2.1e, there is no point in testing it anymore until 1.2.1e is released. There are some changes in API parameters and result json in 1.2.1e, if you need to work on the API use 1.2.1e, but forge by yourself, without connecting to testnet, otherwise your blocks will keep being popped off because of the 1.2.0e fork that most of testnet is on. Using the 1.2.1e API from the /test url should work, it is only the UI that will have glitches. The transaction bytes format has also changed again today because I added attachment versioning too after block 117910 on testnet.




ETA? :)
Logged

Jean-Luc

  • Core Dev
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +816/-81
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1610
    • View Profile
Re: running into a fork on testNet?
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2014, 05:21:37 pm »

Depends on Wesley, whenever the UI is ready. I am done with my changes for 1.2.1e, I am working on the database branch now.
Logged
GPG key fingerprint: 263A 9EB0 29CF C77A 3D06  FD13 811D 6940 E1E4 240C
NXT-X4LF-9A4G-WN9Z-2R322
 

elective-stereophonic
elective-stereophonic
assembly
assembly