Nxt Forum

Nxt Discussion => Nxt Technical Discussion => Nxt Core Development => General => Topic started by: LocoMB on July 23, 2014, 06:25:21 am

Title: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: LocoMB on July 23, 2014, 06:25:21 am
I seem to be having an issue with my testNet:

The 'base target' values are insanely high (~ %10,000 -ish) and there seem to be only two block generating accounts.

Am I running into forks, or is this genuine with the testNet at the moment?

I am using 1.2.1e, but it was the same with 1.2.0e

Best,
l8orre


PS: I don't know if this issue already has a place elsewhere on the forum,


getState:
{
    "lastBlock": "4725667429601915135",
    "numberOfAliases": 61636,
    "application": "NRS",
    "lastBlockchainFeeder": "raspnxt.hopto.org",
    "numberOfPeers": 24,
    "numberOfBlocks": 117915,            <------------- is this ok?
    "totalMemory": 577241088,
    "isScanning": false,
    "numberOfUnlockedAccounts": 1,
    "freeMemory": 136661648,
    "maxMemory": 954728448,
    "totalEffectiveBalanceNXT": 946041710,
    "numberOfTransactions": 168121,
    "version": "1.2.1e",
    "numberOfOrders": 4723,
    "numberOfVotes": 0,
    "numberOfTrades": 1945,
    "lastBlockchainFeederHeight": 162959,
    "time": 20810323,
    "availableProcessors": 4,
    "numberOfAssets": 766,
    "numberOfPolls": 3,
    "cumulativeDifficulty": "2508182158048816",
    "numberOfAccounts": 25640
}
Title: Re: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: abctc on July 23, 2014, 07:15:00 am
The 'base target' values are insanely high (~ %10,000 -ish) and there seem to be only two block generating accounts.
...
I am using 1.2.1e, but it was the same with 1.2.0e
- I also see only two accounts.  Version 1.2.0e.

Current block:
162903      14386024746077933238      23.7.2014 11:14:20   
0      0 + 0      0 B   
3      6974174502535028159      322876 %
Title: Re: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: Come-from-Beyond on July 23, 2014, 07:29:19 am
Maybe only 2 accounts forging.
Title: Re: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: LocoMB on July 23, 2014, 07:30:49 am

Maybe related to this?

https://nxtforum.org/index.php?topic=3882.msg69300#msg69300 (https://nxtforum.org/index.php?topic=3882.msg69300#msg69300)
Title: Re: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: LocoMB on July 23, 2014, 07:31:42 am
Maybe only 2 accounts forging.

but could be - apart from that, it all works normally - but:

the asset that I had created has DISAPPEARED, so it looks like I have been on a fork at least at some time in the past ?!?!
Title: Re: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: Jean-Luc on July 23, 2014, 09:01:11 am
1.1.6 will not work on testnet because it does not have the latest changes in the DGS and alias transfer code.

1.2.1e brings some incompatible changes to the DGS transactions again, and will delete existing testnet blocks after block 117907. If you try it now, it will go on a fork. When everybody switches to 1.2.1e, that fork will become the main testnet blockchain, right now there are probably two competing forks, 1.2.0e and 1.2.1e on testnet. But some of the UI is broken in 1.2.1e, I am waiting for Wesley to adapt to my latest changes before 1.2.1e can be released.

Title: Re: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: LocoMB on July 24, 2014, 11:01:31 am
1.1.6 will not work on testnet because it does not have the latest changes in the DGS and alias transfer code.

1.2.1e brings some incompatible changes to the DGS transactions again, and will delete existing testnet blocks after block 117907. If you try it now, it will go on a fork. When everybody switches to 1.2.1e, that fork will become the main testnet blockchain, right now there are probably two competing forks, 1.2.0e and 1.2.1e on testnet. But some of the UI is broken in 1.2.1e, I am waiting for Wesley to adapt to my latest changes before 1.2.1e can be released.

hmm.. would it be better to switch back to 1.2.0e, or rather wait until 1.2.1e has become the mainLine testNet fork?
Title: Re: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: Jean-Luc on July 24, 2014, 12:02:12 pm
1.2.0e has known bugs in DGS that are fixed in 1.2.1e, there is no point in testing it anymore until 1.2.1e is released. There are some changes in API parameters and result json in 1.2.1e, if you need to work on the API use 1.2.1e, but forge by yourself, without connecting to testnet, otherwise your blocks will keep being popped off because of the 1.2.0e fork that most of testnet is on. Using the 1.2.1e API from the /test url should work, it is only the UI that will have glitches. The transaction bytes format has also changed again today because I added attachment versioning too after block 117910 on testnet.


Title: Re: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: Berzerk on July 24, 2014, 12:46:58 pm
1.2.0e has known bugs in DGS that are fixed in 1.2.1e, there is no point in testing it anymore until 1.2.1e is released. There are some changes in API parameters and result json in 1.2.1e, if you need to work on the API use 1.2.1e, but forge by yourself, without connecting to testnet, otherwise your blocks will keep being popped off because of the 1.2.0e fork that most of testnet is on. Using the 1.2.1e API from the /test url should work, it is only the UI that will have glitches. The transaction bytes format has also changed again today because I added attachment versioning too after block 117910 on testnet.




ETA? :)
Title: Re: running into a fork on testNet?
Post by: Jean-Luc on July 24, 2014, 05:21:37 pm
Depends on Wesley, whenever the UI is ready. I am done with my changes for 1.2.1e, I am working on the database branch now.
elective-stereophonic
elective-stereophonic
assembly
assembly